Archive for November 2021
What Important Information Should I Share With My DUI Defense Attorney?
Everything you can remember is important. I cannot stress how important it is to be completely honest. We need to know the facts on the front end. If we know that there is a bad fact, then we can take steps to address and get around that bad fact, as opposed to being surprised with…Read More
How Commonly Do People Assume They Will have to Plead Guilty in a DUI Case?
It’s very common for people to assume that they don’t have a chance at winning their case and, as a result, plead guilty to DUI. The individual feels like they were railroaded from the very beginning when the officer pulled them over. In reality, a lot of it is bluffing on the part of the…Read More
What are the Penalties for a DUI Conviction in Mississippi?
For a first-offense DUI in Mississippi with a regular driver’s license, there is a penalty of 48 hours in jail, a fine between $250 and $1,000, and a 120-day suspension of the driver’s license. The statutes pretty clearly disallow reductions of jail time, but at The Franks Law Firm, we do our best to minimize jail…Read More
How Exactly is a DUI Defined Under Mississippi State Law?
Mississippi, DUI laws are defined in a couple of different ways. One type of DUI is a common law DUI, which means that the officer thinks that a person is impaired and operating a motor vehicle on the highways of the state of Mississippi. It is under these circumstances that field sobriety tests come into…Read More
What are Some Defense Strategies Used in DUI Cases in Mississippi?
When individuals refuse the Breathalyzer, there is no record of any blood alcohol content whatsoever. If you blow a 0.08 or greater, we have to show that the Intoxilyzer was not properly calibrated within the timeframes allowed or that the officer wasn’t certified, or that there was some other error. Under the sixth amendment of…Read More
Mississippi DUI Counseling
Should I Voluntarily Start Counseling Before My First Court Date?If someone has received two or three DUIs and realizes that they need help, then they should absolutely start counseling before their first court date. If someone has received their first DUI and doesn’t necessarily need help, then an evaluation by an alcohol rehabilitation specialist would…Read More
If You Have A DUI – You Need the Big Man on Your Side
If you face DUI charges in Mississippi, you need an aggressive criminal DUI defense lawyer. We pride ourselves on providing high-quality criminal defense services to residents across the state of Mississippi. Our offices are based in Jackson, MS, and we’re here to help you fight back against these charges. Innocent, Until PROVEN Guilty | Mississippi DUI Defense…Read More
Will I be able to Drive After Being Arrested and Charged With a DUI?
Will I Have a Criminal Court Appearance in The First Month After a DUI Arrest?A person will usually have an initial criminal court appearance within the first month of a DUI arrest. During this court hearing, the defendant will enter a plea of guilty or not guilty. If they plead guilty, then the judge will…Read More
Will The Prosecutor Offer A Plea Deal In A DUI Case?
Generally, a prosecutor will not offer a plea deal until right before trial, sometimes a day or two before trial. They’re dealing with 50 to 100 plus cases per week, and you can’t get on their radar until you’re a week out. Usually. I won’t call a prosecutor any more than two weeks out because…Read More
Will I Have To Meet With A Probation Officer Within The First 30 Days Of My DUI?
Probably Not The state of Mississippi, most likely not meet with anybody within the first 30 days of your arrest. First appearance You will likely have your initial appearance. If you don’t have your initial appearance in that first 30 days, it will be at some time period afterwards. But that should be the only…Read More