What Are The Penalties Associated With The First, Second, And Third DUI?

What Are The Penalties Associated With The First, Second, And Third DUI?

Assuming someone has a regular driver’s license, the penalty for a DUI first offense in Mississippi carries 48 hours in jail and a fine of $250 up to $1,000. And it also results in a suspension of your driver’s license for 120 days. The statutes are very clear that you cannot reduce the jail time. If they do non adjudication for a DUI second offense, the penalties increase. Fines are up to $1,500 with a minimum of five days and you can serve up to six months in jail and the license suspension is greater. It continues with that trend all the way up to the DUI third offense, which is going to carry with it higher fines of $2000 to $5,000 for a third offense. And you’re also looking at a minimum of one year and up to five years in jail. If you have a fourth or subsequent offense, the penalties and jail time increases from two to 10 years, and the fines also increase significantly. And when you get into the DUI third, fourth and subsequent offenses, those are felony charges that follow you around. They are very severe here in Mississippi.