Mississippi DUI Laws
Mississippi DUI Laws
November 9, 2022 | | Uncategorized
Mississippi DUI Defense Lawyers
Current DUI laws in Mississippi can cause you much pain if arrested. Regular drivers are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is .08 or more. But if you’re not an adult, the BAC is .02 or greater. CDL Drivers are drunk when their blood alcohol concentration is .04 percent or greater. That includes school bus drivers.
Mississippi DUI Penalties
Those charged for the first time are subject to fines of $250 to $1,000, prison time of up to 48 hours, or both. You’ll also have to attend an education program, and your license will be suspended for 30 to 90 days. In addition, an ignition interlock will be required for 90 days after the suspension period.
A second offense within five years is up to one year in prison and a fine of $600 to $1,500. You’ll also have to do community service and lose your license for 45 days, and your car will be impounded for the driver’s license suspension period. If other family members need the vehicle, you may get an ignition interlock system instead. After your driver’s license is reinstated, you’ll have to use an ignition interlock system for a year. You may also be required to get treatment.
If there is a third or more DUI within five years, you could be looking at prison time of up to five years and a fine of $2,000 to $5,000. Your car can be seized, and you’ll lose your license for two years, with a three-year ignition interlock after that. You’ll most likely be forced to get treatment.
A fourth DUI means fines of $3,000 to $10,000, two to ten years of prison time, and a 5-year license suspension.
Call a Mississippi DUI Defense Lawyer
Get a Mississippi DUI Defense Lawyer. Don’t face it alone. Have a knowledgeable DUI defense attorney in Jackson Mississippi, examine your case before accepting a DUI conviction. An experienced DUI lawyer can review all the scenarios of your arrest to see if mistakes were made during your arrest. Call The Big man, Joey Franks, at the Franks Law Firm. His phone number is (601) 773-7777.
Google Business Profile
Google Business Profile Post