How DUI Defense Lawyers near Flowood MS Protect Your Rights

DUI Defense Lawyers near Flowood MS If you got a DUI near Flowood MS, you need a good DUI defense lawyer. Attorney Joey Franks, the Big Man at the Franks Law Firm, will safeguard your rights as he deeply understands Mississippi DUI laws. Variables like field sobriety tests and other technical aspects make a difference.…

Read More

Misdemeanor Statute Of Limitations In Mississippi

The statute of limitations for a misdemeanor crime in Mississippi is two (2) years. That means the State of Mississippi, or another person filing the charges, has two (2) years to do so. Additionally, the individual charged with the crime cannot “abscond or flee from justice, or shall absent himself from this state or out…

Read More

DUI Non-Adjudication In Mississippi

Non-Adjudicating a DUI in Mississippi is a viable option for some people. Non-Adjudication means the court will withhold the adjudication of guilt and places an individual in a Non-Adjudication program conditioned upon completion of court-ordered requirements. There is a lot, however, that one must consider before pursuing this option. Do I Qualify For Non-Adjudication Of A Mississippi…

Read More

DUI Refusal in Mississippi Requires Quick Action

Alcohol level test

A DUI refusal in Mississippi can lead to a suspension of your driver’s license. Most people worry how long the State will suspend their license. Generally, the State will suspend your license for 90 days, but it can be for up to a year. What happens during the suspension process? First, you must refuse to…

Read More

DUI Legal Limits And Prescription Drugs In Mississippi

Beer tap

I got a DUI. Will they make me get treatment? Mississippi D.U.I.s Joey: If you plead guilty, or you are found guilty of a DUI first offense, second offense or third offense, you’ll most certainly attend MASEP class, a Mississippi alcohol rehabilitation class. That’s usually the most treatment the court will order. For a DUI second…

Read More

Will I Go To Jail For A DUI?

Pulled over vehicles

Will I go to jail for a DUI? Canton Police stop a driver. Joey: If you’re found guilty of a DUI first offense in Mississippi, you could be looking at up to 48 hours in jail. There are a couple of things where a Mississippi DUI Lawyer helps. First, if you’re successful at beating the DUI,…

Read More

Am I Guilty?

Cars on the side of the road

I Wasn’t Read My Rights. Am I Not Guilty? Local police officers obtaining information during a traffic stop. Joey: Absolutely not. The rights you’re referring to are your Miranda rights. In the movies they say, “You have the right to remain silent. You have the right to an attorney. Anything you say can and will be…

Read More

How Does A DUI Affect Me?

A person holding a beer mug under the keg tap

How Does Having a DUI Affect Me? Mississippi D.U.I.s Joey: The main way I see DUIs affect people’s lives is with education and careers. Sometimes people want to get into advanced educational programs; nursing programs, physical therapy programs, pretty much anything medical or legal related. That can be a hurdle they have to overcome. A…

Read More

What If I Have More Than One DUI Offense?

What if I have more than one DUI offense? Joey: They will stack up against you and the penalties become more and more severe with each offense. You have your standard DUI first offense, which carries a minimum 48 hours in jail and up to a $1,000 fine. For the DUI second offense, the fine…

Read More